Medical Sonographers

Health Science > Medical Sonographers > Licensing / Certification
Occupation is in demand for the following regions: Northeast, Career Cluster
Medical Sonographers

Medical Sonographers - Licensing / Certification

Currently, only New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, and Oregon require medical sonographers to be licensed. Requirements vary by state.

American Society of Radiologic Technologists

Optional certification is available through the American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonographers. For more information, contact:

American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonographers

In addition, many employers prefer to hire sonographers who have a Basic Life Support certification, which shows they are trained to provide CPR.

Source: Illinois Career Information System (CIS) brought to you by Illinois Department of Employment Security.