In Illinois, radiologic technologists must be accredited by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency's Division of Nuclear Safety. Accreditation requirements include:

  • completion of an approved training program;
  • passage of an exam; and,
  • payment of an application fee.

Accreditation must be renewed every two years. Applicants for renewal must provide evidence of having participated in an approved continuing education program.

For additional licensing information, contact:

Illinois Emergency Management Agency
Division of Nuclear Safety
Technologist Accreditation Program
2200 South Dirksen Parkway, Springfield, IL 62703
Phone: 217.782.2700

National certification is available through the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) in three technologies: radiography, radiation therapy, and nuclear medicine.

For information on certification, contact:

The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists
1255 Northland Drive, St. Paul, Minnesota 55120-1155
Phone 651.687.0048 ext. 8560

Credentials in nuclear medicine technology are awarded by the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB). The American Registry of Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (ARDMS) certifies ultrasound technologists.