In Illinois, radiation therapists are accredited by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency's Division of Nuclear Safety. Applicants for accreditation must:

  • pass an exam given by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists; and,
  • pay a fee.

Licenses must be renewed every two years. Twelve contact hours per year of continuing education are required.

For additional licensing information, contact:

Illinois Emergency Management Agency
Division of Nuclear Safety
Technologist Accreditation Program
2200 South Dirksen Parkway, Springfield, IL 62703
Phone: 217.782.2700

For information on certification, contact:

The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists
1255 Northland Drive, St. Paul, Minnesota 55120-1155
Phone: 651.687.0048 ext.8560